The Purpose of Single Life

“When will I finally find someone?”, “I’m sick of being single!”

Le’t s be honest, everyone that’s single has asked this question one time or another, even if you act like you’re happy and go-lucky.. Don’t lie to yourself.  (Look, by no means is this a “woe is me” post, it’s the complete opposite so read on.)

Not only that, but you’ve also done everything in your power to change your status from “Single” to “In a relationship with _____”…

And there it is, your power.

Earlier today, I read a post by Jeff Cherr on this very topic and he wrote some great truth in there that I would like to share with you.

This isn’t in your power; you can’t just make someone like you. God has a plan for everything; yes even your relationship status. Maybe there’s a reason why you are single.

That’s the beauty of God, he knows what’s best for you even when you don’t.

For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts. –  Is. 55:9

If you don’t believe in God, then sure, leave this post and go back to trying to fill your needs with whatever will make you happy.  However, if you do believe in God, read further, you’ll probably understand some things that even I didn’t think about before I read the post by Jeff.

Whether you believe it or not, God is for you.

If you are single right now, understand that God has you there because it’s for your best.

It wouldn’t be best for you right now to be with someone. As Jeff Cherry said, maybe He’s refining you and purging you of a sin that needs to be dealt with before you bring someone into your life.

Maybe it’s because He wants you to truly trust Him and build a solid foundation with Him first.

Maybe it’s because He is using you in a mighty way that couldn’t be done if you were married right now.

If you’re single, there’s a reason. Don’t waste your single moments worrying about it just because everyone else is in a relationship or because you have come to a point in your life where you have become desperate to be in a relationship.

I understand this is a hard concept for many to grasp. It’s been a hard concept for myself to grasp but I’ve come to the realization it’s not on my time, but His.

I rather be single right now than be in a meaningless relationship with someone that won’t be anything in my life a year from now.

I’ve seen Facebook statuses going from “Single” to “In a relationship” to “It’s complicated” and back to “Single” in a 72-hour span… That’s not a relationship, that’s a weird fling.

Wouldn’t you rather spend your life perfectly lonely rather than to make a rushed decision to cure your loneliness? Imagine finding out you’ve waited all of these years to get it right and then in a moment of ignorance, loneliness, and desperation, you get it wrong because you’re looking to cure a moment’s need with a lifetime commitment? Listen, the moment you settle for less than you are worth, you will obtain even less than you settled for.

So for now, I’ll be content with being single. Sure, I joke around about that #ForeverAlone and say I don’t like Valentine’s Day, but here’s a secret, even some people in relationships don’t like Valentine’s Day…

So there you have it, this is my Valentine’s Day post.

Leave a Reply

