We Are What We Listen To

For years, I’ve been a fan of all kinds of music. Rock, Hip-Hop, Rap, R&B, you name it.

Lil’ Wayne has probably destroyed music as we know it with songs about getting high, sleeping with every girl in world, and drinking your life away because “you only live once”.

When you’re younger you think that the music of your generation is the greatest thing to hit the radio waves, but after further consideration, I have come to the conclusion that my generation has by far the worst music I’ve ever listened to.

Look, not all rap is bad, but the majority of artists (can you even call them that?) are nothing but a thug from the street that samples great music from the past and puts it in their own crappy music.

Artists like B.O.B, and Lupe Fiasco at least have meaning behind their lyrics whereas artists like Lil’ Wayne, Tyga, and others have probably destroyed music.

Sure, Wayne has a good song here and there… but for me, the only good one I can think of is How To Love.

Drake is a tricky one. He has so much emotion in his music, but then he comes out with a song like HYFR and The Motto and it just makes me scratch my head.

There used to be a time in which music meant something, it had meaning, had a story behind the lyrics. Some still go by this, but for the most part, music is now used as a way to call out someone, degrade women, talk about smoking weed, sleeping with as many women as you can. (As I said before, there are exceptions to this rule but the most of the “hits” today are all about that)

Maybe I’m just old-fashioned and enjoy a good original song that someone wrote to their girlfriend or something like that.

Michael Bublé is the ultimate baller. All his hit songs are written for a girlfriend he had at that time.

For example, Michael Bublé is the ultimate baller. All his hit songs are written for a girlfriend he had at that time.

When Bublé was engaged to long-time girlfriend Debbie Timuss, he co-wrote the hit single “Home” for Timuss when he was away in Italy. When their engagement ended in November 2005, the breakup inspired Bublé to co-write the hit original song “Lost”.

The hit original song “Everything” was written by Bublé to his then-girlfriend Emily Blunt.

When Bublé became engaged to girlfriend Luisana Lopilato in November 2009, he co-wrote the hit single “Haven’t Met You Yet” for Lopilato.

Another example is Adele and her song “Someone Like You” which is about her broken relationship, and lyrically it speaks of Adele coming to terms with it.

Still don’t believe me? Well, here are a few lyrics from our “amazing” artists:

“Drop it to the floor
Make that a** shake
Woah make the ground move, that’s an a** quake
Built a house up on that a**, that’s an ass state
Roll my weed on it, that’s an a** tray
Say Ye, say Ye, don’t we do this err’ day-day?
I work them long nights, long nights to get a pay day
Finally got paid, now I need shade and a vacay
And n***** still hatin’, so much hate I need an AK
Now we out in Paris, yeah I’m Perrierin’
White girls politicin’ that’s that Sarah Palin
Gettin’ high, Californicatin’
I give her that D, cause that’s where I was born and raised in”

– Mercy by Kanye West

“So what we get drunk?
So what we smoke weed?
We’re just having fun
We don’t care who sees
So what we go out?
That’s how it’s supposed to be
Living young and wild and free”

– Young, Wild, and Free by Wiz Khalifa

“Now she want a photo
You already know though
You only live once: that’s the motto n**** YOLO
We bout it every day, every day, every day
Like we sittin’ on the bench, n**** we don’t really play
Every day, every day, f*** what anybody say
Can’t see ’em ’cause the money in the way
Real n**** what’s up?”

– The Motto by Drake (feat. Lil Wayne)

Those are just a few… Now, when you look as some lyrics from some actual musicians you’ll realize “wow, how can I possible like this music?”

“Some day, when I’m awfully low,
When the world is cold,
I will feel a glow just thinking of you
And the way you look tonight.”

– The Way You Look Tonight by Frank Sinatra

“I might have to wait, I’ll never give up
I guess it’s half timing and the other half’s luck
Wherever you are, whenever it’s right
You’ll come outta nowhere and into my life

And I know that we can be so amazing
And baby your love is gonna change me
And now I can see every possibility

Somehow I know that it’ll all turn out
You’ll make me work so we can work to work it out
And promise you kid I’ll give so much more than I get
I just haven’t met you yet”

– Haven’t Met You Yet by Michael Bublé

“I heard that you’re settled down
That you found a girl and you’re married now.
I heard that your dreams came true.
Guess she gave you things I didn’t give to you.

Old friend, why are you so shy?
Ain’t like you to hold back or hide from the light.

I hate to turn up out of the blue uninvited
But I couldn’t stay away, I couldn’t fight it.
I had hoped you’d see my face and that you’d be reminded
That for me it isn’t over.”

– Someone Like You by Adele

I am a strong believer that “we are what we listen to”.

If all you listen to is junk like Lil’ Wayne, and Kayne West you’ll start to actually act like the music. You’ll be disrespectful towards women, you’ll only party and smoke all the time because, according to Drake, You Only Live Once.

I think this is why the divorce rate is up, why people aren’t committing to eachother, why there is unfaithful spouses, and so much hate in this world.

This generation is all about the now, they want pleasure the fastest way possible, they can’t stay with one person for more than 2 months because they’ll be bored and want something new (Like artists, there are exceptions to all of this).

The music we listen to truly affects our daily lives, I wasn’t a believer in this a few months ago but now I completely get it.

If you are reading and still are thinking “Wow Pedro it’s 2012, bro. We aren’t losers like back then. Our music is the best.”

Just remember this, it might be cool right now, but would you really let your children listen to the music you listen to? You would like to let your daughter listen to music that says all she’s good for is sex? Do you really want to let you son grow up thinking women are an object that is only good for sex and then you leave them?

Dear generation, please move past this music we listen to. This doesn’t help anyone, it just hurts us all in the long run.

2 thoughts on “We Are What We Listen To

  1. you’re clearly too narrow minded to understand

    lil B- I’m a fag, I’m a lesbian

    “I’m coming like the subway: expressing
    I’m guessing I’m just like a Newport
    New sport, never been a poor sport
    I got my cat, I love my cat
    My cat is a young cat, my cat is a dumb rabbit
    I spit dumb raps; dumb facts. I’m dumbfounded that I’m
    So dumb now, I’m smart now, I’m dumb now
    100 thousand”

    • I can’t believe someone actually quotes Lil B…

      Aside from that, I’m not narrow minded, I listen to everything, but unlike everyone that just listens, I REALLY listen. By that I mean, I look at the lyrics, see what they mean, see of the song makes sense. Look some rappers have great wordplay, I’m not denying that.

      Everyone has their preferences, I understand that and that’s fine. But you cant compare someone like Lil B to Frank Sinatra. That like comparing LeBron James to Luke Walton.

Leave a Reply

