Drake’s Club Paradise Tour kicked off with a bang on Valentine’s Day in Miami

By: Pedro Heizer

If Thank Me Later was Drake experiencing fame for the first time, Take Care is about handling its repercussions. With collaborations with Chantal Kreviazuk, The Weeknd, Jamie Smith of The xx, and even Stevie Wonder, Take Care shows that the Toronto rhymer’s mind state is expanding.

Drake’s long awaited Club Paradise Tour kicked off with a bang on Valentine’s Day in Miami and will now circle 17 cities with stops in colleges across the U.S., before wrapping up on March 11 in San Diego.

The tour name pays tribute to a track Drake dropped back in September titled Club Paradise, which is a club in his hometown of Toronto.

During the tour, Drake will be joined by MCs Kendrick Lamar and A$AP Rocky, two up-and-coming MCs.

“I want to bring Kendrick, I want to bring A$AP, those are guys that I love,” Drake said in a statement. “I just sort of showcased the music that I happen to love right now, and those are the two guys that I’m bringing out.”

Drake may rap that all he cares about is money and the city that he’s from, but his fans also hold a special place in his heart.

He loves his fans so much that his upcoming tour will have a more intimate feeling to it. The tour will be played in more quaint arenas such as the BankUnited Center in Miami and the Bridgestone Arena in Tennessee instead of large arenas like the American Airlines Arena and Madison Square Garden, “I fought for this tour, I fought really hard for this tour because, of course, they want me to go get the big bucks, go into the stadiums and cash out,” Drake revealed about the decision to play more intimate shows. “But I was just like, I really made this album for the same people that supported me since day one.”

Take Care, Drake’s highly anticipated sophomore album was released back in November and has been one of the most talked about albums since.

People might criticize Drake by saying he always talks about emotional subjects and call him “soft” but this is the Drake that fans everywhere have been waiting to hear; a genuine artist with real feelings and who is not afraid to show them.

“I think people obviously have misconceptions about me, one being that I’m always emotional and depressed,” says Drake. “But that’s a goal for me; I want to make connected music. I don’t want to be a disconnected artist. My goal with this album was to tell more of the story. I want to give more vivid details of this journey from anonymity to fame.”

Drake is one of the best when it comes to conjoining many moods is what Drake does best. He can put arrogance, sadness, tenderness and self-pity into one vast emotional blanket.

Drake grew up in Forest Hill, a section of Toronto and has been living in the spotlight since 2001. As a 14 year old, he stared as the basketball-playing, wheelchair-bound Jimmy Brooks on the Canadian teen drama Degrassi: The Next Generation. In 2006, he released his first mixtape, Room for Improvement and soon after he joined Lil Wayne’s Young Money crew.

By 2009, his third mixtape, So Far Gone, and an avalanche of high-profile cosigns had made him one of rap’s elite stars, all before he had even signed a record deal. He has lived what could be called a charmed life, but he insists that experience doesn’t set him apart.

Take Care is an album filled with emotion, and meaning. There was a reason why Drake named this album “Take Care”, because even though Drake has all the fame one can possibly obtain, he still takes care with the people around him. The message Drake ultimately wants to send with Take Care is “Just that I kept my word that I’m getting better, that I haven’t lost myself,” states the Canadian rapper-singer.

 

Leave a Reply

