Mischief Managed: A Look Back at 11 Terrific Years

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2, feels like is a hollow victory. This film marks the end of both Harry’s and our own adventure; a story that has lingered throughout our childhoods and integrated itself firmly within our adult lives. Many of us embraced Harry at a young age and as such, have developed a maternal bond with the character over the years.

Harry Potter has been a huge part of my life these past 11 years and to see it finally come to an end was a bittersweet moment.

I remmeber like it was yesturday, Ms. Magnus’ fourth grade class was where I was first introduced to this awkward little boy who lived the cupboard Under the stairs.

To give you a little background, fourth grade was the first full year of school I had here in the United States and I didn’t know how to speak any English at all.

So when Ms. Magnus told the class that she would read with us all four Harry Potter books, I was ecstatic because this was my chance to learn how to read English.

I begged my father to purchase Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone for me at the local Target and he did. From the moment I had that book in my hands, I began reading it. I didn’t understand anything that I was reading but I kept at it, and everytime we would read in class, I would bring my little paperback copy and follow along.

To my disappointment, we never finished reading all four books in class but we did finish the first and the second. By the end of those two books, it was official, I was hooked. Not only was I hooked in the books, I had learned how to read English. So in a way, I can thank Harry Potter and JK Rowling for “teaching” me how to read.

As I moved to fifth grade, Harry followed me. When I found out Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone was going to be come a movie, I was the happiest fifth grader in the world.

To me, Harry was a real person. He was my age, at the time I was 11 and so was he.

I watched the first movie on November 17, 2001, and from then on, I have not missed a midnight showing of any of the Harry Potter movies to date.

Not only have I not missed a Harry Potter movie, I have read every single Harry Potter book at least twice.

Harry Potter is more than just a silly child’s book. Harry Potter is an era, Harry is the kid that everyone fell in love with and wanted to see succeed.

But what made Harry such a lovable person? Simple, Harry possessed traits that every single person in the world loves to see: humbleness, loyalty, and bravery.

One of the biggest themes of the Harry Potter series is humility. Harry was the boy who lived, he was the most famous wizard of all-time before he even picked up his first wand, and his humility was something that we all wish for.

One of the first things that Harry did that no one had ever done was become the seeker for the Gryffindor Quidditch team as a first year. Harry had skills that not even the most advanced Quidditch player had and he remained humble thoughout his Quidditch career.

Not only that but Harry was the hero in every single book, saving Ginny in the Chamber of Secrets, protecting an innocent Sirius Black escape from Azkabam, fighting Lord Voldertmort in the TriWizard Tournament, and every other time he had to, but he never let all that get to his head.

Another trait that Harry had that we all wished we had was his loyalty to his friends and loved ones.

Harry, Ron and Hermione became best friends from the moment they met at the Hogwarts Express in their first year at Hogwarts. Through the good times and the bad times, no matter what was going on between them, Harry, Ron, and Hermione always had eachother’s back.

Harry was loyal to his headmaster Albus Dumbledore even when the entire world was against him, Harry was there to protect Dumbledore’s good name.

As we know, Harry’s parents died when he was just boy when Voldermort went to killed them on a chilly October 31st night in Godric’s Hollow.

Harry’s only relatives were his aunt Petunia, uncle Vernon and his cousin Dudley. Harry, with good reason, hated them and couldn’t wait to leave the house. Then, in Harry Potter and the Prizoner of Azkaban, we are introduced to Sirius Black, Harry’s godfather and best friend of Harry’s father. Harry loved Sirius more than anyone in the world but his life was cut short when in Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, Bellatrix Lestrange killed him in battle. But it didn’t matter, Harry would always have his parents and godfather close to his heart and they were with him to the end.

Harry’s love for his family and friends, is something that everyone should have. He would have gone to the ends of the earth to protect those he loved dearly, and we should all learn from him.

Lastly, Harry was the bravest person I’ve ever known. The Boy Who Lived, was only kept alive so he could die at the right time to save the world from Voldermort.

In his first year at Hogwarts, Harry was already faced with Voldermort as he was a mere spirit hanging on to dear life by drinking unicorn blood and being part of Professor Quirrell. Harry defeated Voldertmort for the first time at a mere 11 years of age.

As we all know, Harry battled Voldertmort every step of the way. When everyone had given up hope, when everyone was ready to give Voldermort what he wanted, Harry’s hope never faltered. Harry defeated Voldertmort in the Chamber of Secrets, in the graveyard after Cedric Diggory’s death, in the Ministry of Magic after Sirius Black’s death and so on.

Harry Potter, was the series that made my generation what we are. Twilight, does not even come close to being what Harry Potter was to my generation. In 15 years from now, Harry Potter will be a classic and Twilight will be just that, a twilight. In 15 years from now, I know my kids will love Harry as much as I have in these wonderful 11 years I’ve had with him.

As I sat in the theater watching Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 2, I became sad at the end because I knew that as soon as the credits were over, the Harry Potter franchise would be over. No more would we wait in line until midnight to purchase the latest book and stay up all night until we finished it, no longer would we buy movie tickets at ridiculous high prices online months in advance of the movie and stay in line for hours to see the newest movie, it was all over.

As the final chapter of Harry Potter came to a close, I will cherish all the terrific moments I had reading, and re-reading those books. I’ll remember the great times with friends when we would stay over eachothers house to read the Harry Potter books together, I’ll remember the great friends I’ve made because we had one thing in common, a love for Harry Potter, all the great time I had with friends at the movies and much more.

I said earlier that this is the end of the Potter franchise, but I’m wrong. This is the begging, my generation will now spread Harry Potter to their kids and their kids will show it to their kids and Harry Potter will live on forever as one of the greatest series to have ever been written and I believe that one day it will be in the same sentence as Lord of the Rings.

One thing is for sure, after 11 years the thing I took from the Harry Potter series is this: friendship and the loyalty to those friendships is a beautiful thing.

Leave a Reply

